Photographer Jourdain Kobycheva Polina

Who am i ?

My universes

Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva

Photographic journey of Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva

Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva offers a poetics of the body and its movements to make its representation not only an object, but a tool for thinking about the world. A sociologist of culture, passionate about history, she transforms her discoveries and life experiences through her art.

Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva came to photography after fifteen years of practicing sociology, her original profession. His involvement in society, both in terms of research and in terms of the analysis of individuals, has allowed him to sharpen his view of men and their works.

Her first works were architectural photos tracking down the details, scrutinizing the material from which she drew a new order organized by her artistic vision. 

Then his interest in dance led to a major project with the dancers of Malandain Ballet Biarritz, crowned in 2016 by an exhibition at the Crypte Sainte-Eugénie in Biarritz, illustrating the festival Time to Love Dance. The body is treated in close-ups to achieve the improbable synthesis of anatomical aesthetics and the dreaminess of curves.

The publication of two art books, one on dance Absolute Delicate Dance, the other on the nude Light Painting on Black Background, announce and confirm a new style always dominated by a singular sensitivity to beauty.

Since 2018, another personal project on dance “In Body”, dedicated to former dancers, was born and continues to be enriched. Through the representation of the body, Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva invents a new aestheticism, a new language appropriating the evolution of “body-history”.
Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva offers a poetics of the body and its movements to make its representation not only an object, but a tool for thinking about the world.
Currently his work continues around Basque Pelota and dancing. This sporting discipline, anchored in Basque tradition, is presented in its artistic work under the prism of the body in movement, but also that of the material, placing its subject in a cultural context and its local transmissions.
In 2021 with Arteaz Editions, she is releasing a new work, Pilota Arimak, on the traditional art of Basque pelota. It tells the fruits of a story between a man, the material and the local culture.
In 2022 with the support of ALCA Nouvelle Aquitaine, she is releasing another work Dantza, Pilotari!, link between the Cesta Punta And dance.

Solo exhibitions

  • 2023 Dantza, Pilotari! – Pili Tafernaberry Gallery. Bidart. France
  • 2022 Bwater Gestures – Gestu Egerrak. Biarritz. France
  • 2021 The Art of Basque Pelota. Saint Jean de Luz. France.
  • 2018 In Body. What remains when the dancer's body is no longer performing? Biarritz, France
  • 2016 Dance. The absolute delicate. Biarritz, France
  • 2015 Photo opening on three themes: nude, architecture and dance “Painting of light”. Bayonne, France
  • 2010 Shadow architecture. “Nabokov Apartment” Museum. Saint Petersburg, Russia.
  • 2009 The freedom movement. Exhibition of ballet photographs. St. Petersburg, Russia

Permanent collections

  • 2012 State Russian Museum. Saint Petersburg, Russia.

Collective exhibitions

  • 2017 May of the photo. Villeneuve-sur-Lot, France
  • 2016 “Nabokov synesthete” Biarritz, France
  • 2013 “Beauty without glamour”. State Russian Museum. St. Petersburg, Russia
  • 2012 “II Biennale of Contemporary Photography”. St. Petersburg, Russia

FACES, LOOKS

“Polina Kobycheva photographs faces, looks and postures at the same time, amused and ironic, serious and playful, as if to take up a challenge in the face of the wave of anonymity which crushes and standardizes individuals. In these portraits, we also perceive the vagaries of time passing, which wears out bodies and minds. Finally, we read there, a deep joy, an assurance, as well as a pleasure of feeling alive, again and again. »

–Itxaro Borda

CONTACT

The desire to carry out a photographic session, in Biarritz, Pays Basque or elsewhere ? A quote request for a service, a question that crosses your mind?

Privacy Policy

8 + 9 =

en_US

Photographe Jourdain Kobycheva Polina

Qui suis-je ?

Mes univers

Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva

Parcours photographique de Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva

Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva propose une poétique du corps et ses mouvements pour faire de sa représentation non seulement un objet, mais un outil de pensée sur le monde.

Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva est venue à la photographie après quinze années de pratique de la sociologie, son métier d’origine. Son implication dans la société, tant sur le plan de la recherche que sur le plan de l’analyse des individus, lui a permis d’aiguiser son regard sur les hommes et sur leurs œuvres.

Ses premiers travaux furent des photos architecturales traquant le détail, scrutant la matière dont elle a tiré un nouvel ordre organisé par sa vision d’artiste. 

Puis son intérêt pour la danse a abouti sur un grand projet avec les danseurs du Malandain Ballet Biarritz, couronné en 2016 par une exposition à la Crypte Sainte-Eugénie de Biarritz, illustrant le festival Le Temps d’Aimer la Danse. Le corps y est traité en plans rapprochés pour réaliser l’improbable synthèse de l’esthétisme anatomique et l’onirisme des courbes.

La publication de deux livres d’Art, l’un sur la danse Danse l’Absolu Délicat, l’autre sur le nu Peinture de Lumière sur Fond Noir, annoncent et confirment un nouveau style toujours dominé par une sensibilité singulière sur la beauté.

Depuis 2018, un autre projet personnel sur la danse « En Corps », consacré aux anciens danseurs a vu le jour et continue de s’enrichir encore. A travers la représentation du corps, Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva invente un nouvel esthétisme, un nouveau langage s’appropriant l’évolution du « corps-histoire ».
Polina Jourdain-Kobycheva propose une poétique du corps et ses mouvements pour faire de sa représentation non seulement un objet, mais un outil de pensée sur le monde.
Actuellement son travail se poursuit autour de la Pelote basque et la danse. Cette discipline sportive, ancrée dans la tradition basque, se décline dans son travail artistique sous le prisme du corps en mouvement, mais aussi celui de la matière, plaçant son sujet dans un contexte culturel et ses transmissions locales.
En 2021 avec les Editions Arteaz, elle sort un nouvel ouvrage, Pilota Arimak, sur l’art traditionnel de la pelote basque. Il raconte les fruits d’une histoire entre un homme, la matière et la culture locale.
Actuellement avec le soutien de l’ALCA Nouvelle Aquitaine, elle prépare un autre ouvrage
Dantza, Pilotari !, lien entre la Cesta Punta et la danse, dont la parution est prévue pour octobre 2022.

Expositions solo

  • 2022 Beaux Gestes – Gestu Egerrak. Biarritz. France
  • 2021 L’Art de la Pelote Basque. Saint-Jean de Luz. France.
  • 2018 En Corps. Que reste-t-il quand le corps du danseur n’est plus performant ? Biarritz, France
  • 2016 Danse. L’absolu délicat. Biarritz, France
  • 2015 Vernissage photos sur les trois thématiques : nu, architecture et danse « Peinture de lumière ». Bayonne, France
  • 2010 Architecture des ombres. Musée « Appartement Nabokov». Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie.
  • 2009 Le mouvement pour la liberté. Exposition des photographies du ballet. Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie

Collections permanentes

  • 2012 Musée d’Etat Russe. Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie.

Expositions collectives

  • 2017 Mai de la photo. Villeneuve-sur-Lot, France
  • 2016 « Nabokov synesthète » Biarritz, France
  • 2013 « La beauté sans du glamour ». Musée d’Etat Russe. Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie
  • 2012 « II-eme Biennale de la photographie contemporaine ». Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie

VISAGES, REGARDS

“Polina Kobycheva photographie des visages, des regards et des postures à la fois, amusées et ironiques, sérieuses et joueuses, comme pour relever un défi face à la vague d’anonymat qui écrase et uniformise les individus. Sur ces portraits, on perçoit également, les aléas du temps qui passe, qui use les corps et les esprits. On y lit enfin, une joie profonde, une assurance, ainsi qu’un plaisir de se sentir vivre, encore et encore.”

– Itxaro Borda

CONTACT

L’envie de réaliser une séance photographique, une demande de devis pour une prestation, une question qui vous passe par la tête ?

Politique de confidentialité

11 + 2 =